top of page
SCMaglev Opposition

(Click on the title to open/download the document from the Stop This Train website)

MCRT SCMagLev DEIS Comments Submission
MCRT SCMagLev MDE WQC Comments Submission
MCRT SCMagLev MDE WQC Comments Submission
              (Click on the title to open/download the document)
Position Papers (Click on the title to open/download the document)







Health and Human Impacts

Environmental Justice

Agency & Other Organization's Comments Opposing the SCMagLev


Other Information

​The following organizations, non-profits, community groups, local elected officials, and more have all expressed their opposition to the construction of the proposed Baltimore-Washington Maglev project.

Environmental Non-Profits:

  • 295 Coalition

  • American Bird Conservancy

  • Anacostia Riverkeeper

  • Anacostia Watershed Society

  • Audubon Mid-Atlantic

  • Audubon Naturalist Society

  • Audubon Society of Central Maryland

  • Baltimore Bird Club

  • Baltimore MARC Riders

  • Beaverdam Creek Watershed Watch Group

  • Bikemore

  • Blue Water Baltimore

  • Carroll County Bird Club

  • Celebrate the Greenbelt Forest Preserve

  • Chapman Forest Foundation

  • Chesapeake Bay Foundation

  • Chesapeake Conservancy

  • Chesapeake Legal Alliance

  • Citizens to Conserve and Restore Indian Creek

  • City Wildlife

  • Clean Water Action

  • Coalition for Smarter Growth

  • DC Audubon Society

  • Defenders of Wildlife

  • Defensores de la Cuenca

  • Downtown Residents Advocacy Network

  • Frederick Bird Club

  • Friends of Patuxent Research Refuge (District 2)

  • Greenbelt Advocates for Environmental and
    Social Justice

  • Greenbelt Climate Action Network

  • Howard County Bird Club

  • Maryland Entomological Society

  • Maryland Legislative Coalition- Climate Justice Wing

  • Maryland Native Plant Society

  • Maryland Ornithological Society

  • Maryland Sierra Club

  • Mattawoman Watershed Society

  • Montgomery Bird Club

  • National Parks Conservation Association

  • National Wildlife Refuge Association

  • NeighborSpace of Baltimore County

  • Old-Growth Forest Network

  • Patuxent Bird Club

  • Patuxent Riverkeeper

  • Patuxent Tidewater Land Trust

  • Port Towns Environmental Action

  • Prince George's Audubon Society

  • Rachel Carson Council

  • Safe Skies Maryland

  • Southern Maryland Audubon Society

  • Takoma Park Mobilization Environment Committee

  • Talbot County Bird Club

  • Tri-county Bird Club

  • Waterkeepers Chesapeake

Elected Officials:

  • Sen. Malcolm Augustine (District 47)

  • Sen. Pam Beidle (District 32)

  • Sen. Paul Pinsky (District 22)

  • Sen. Jim Rosapepe (District 21)

  • Del. Mark S. Chang (District 32)

  • Del. Diana Fennel (District 47A)

  • Del. Wanika Fisher (District 47B)

  • Del. Anne Healey (District 22)

  • Del. Julian Ivey (District 47A)

  • Del. Mary Lehman (District 21)

  • Del. Geraldine Valentino-Smith (District 23A)

  • Del. Alonzo Washington (District 22)

  • Del. Nicole Williams (District 22)

  • Del. Barbra Frush (District 21)

  • Del. Joseline Pena Melnyk (District 21)

  • Del. Ben Barnes (District 21)

  • Prince George's County Executive Angela Alsobrooks

  • Anne Arundel County Council
    Chair Sarah Lacey (District 1)

  • Anne Arundel County Council
    Member Alison Pickard (District 2)

  • Berwyn Heights Mayor Amanda Dewey

  • Bladensburg Mayor Takisha James

  • College Park Mayor Patrick Wojan

  • Colmar Manor Mayor Sadara Barrow

  • Cottage City Commission Chair Wanda Wheatley​

  • Greenbelt Mayor Colin Byrd

  • Landover Hills Mayor Jeffrey Schomisch

  • Laurel Mayor Craig Moe

  • New Carrolton Mayor Duane Rosenberg

  • Prince George's County Council Chair Calvin Hawkins (At-Large)

  • Prince George's County Council
    Member Monique Anderson-Walker (District 8)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Derrick Davis (District 6)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Tom Dernoga (District 1)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Mel Franklin (At-Large)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Dannielle Glaros (District 3)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Sydney Harrison (District 9)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Jolene Ivey (District 5)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Rodney Streeter (District 7)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Deni Taveras (District 2)

  • Prince George's County Council Member
    Todd Turner (District 4)​​

Homeowners Associations & Citizen Groups:

  • Bladensburg Citizens Against the SCMaglev

  • Eastpines Citizens Association

  • Glendale Citizens Association

  • Greenbelt East Advisory Coalition

  • Linthicum Shipley Improvement Association

  • Montpelier Woods Homeowners Association

  • Prince George’s County Young Democrats

  • West Baltimore Project

  • Westport Neighborhood Association Woodland Community​​

Others that have expressed concerns:

  • AA County Board of Education

  • Amtrak

  • City of Baltimore

  • City of Bladensburg

  • City of Greenbelt

  • City of Washington D.C

  • Maryland League of Conservation Voters

  • National Park Service

  • NASA​

  • Prince George's County Board of Education

  • Prince George's County NAACP

  • U.S. Department of Interior

  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency

  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife

Informative Videos: (Click on the title to open & play the video)

bottom of page